Spirit Message of the Moment – A Poem for Samhain 2013

scroll2SAMHAIN

(The Celtic Halloween)255249_211142809012506_579760546_n

In the season leaves should love,
since it gives them leave to move
through the wind, towards the ground
they were watching while they hung,
legend says there is a seam
stitching darkness like a name.

Now when dying grasses veil
earth from the sky in one last pale
wave, as autumn dies to bring
winter back, and then the spring,
we who die ourselves can peel
back another kind of veil
that hangs among us like thick smoke.

Tonight at last I feel it shake.185390_399473976785902_987418826_n
I feel the nights stretching away
thousands long behind the days
till they reach the darkness where
all of me is ancestor.

I move my hand and feel a touch
move with me, and when I brush
my own mind across another,
I am with my mother’s mother.
Sure as footsteps in my waiting
self, I find her, and she brings

arms that carry answers for me,
intimate, a waiting bounty.
“Carry me.” She leaves this trailfbe99e50b9f503832413a11c8ec84faf
through a shudder of the veil,
and leaves, like amber where she stays,
a gift for her perpetual gaze.

– Anne Finch
scroll2

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://spiritblogger.wordpress.com/2013/10/30/spirit-message-of-the-moment-a-poem-for-samhain-2013/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. bottes santiag homme pas cher

    I think strongly that bang and read through solon most this situation. If gettable, as they realise acquire,would you intent updating your diary with much more collection? It is really efficacious for up me.

  2. Sincerely Yours,I log on to your article named “Spirit Message of the Moment – A Poem for Samhain 2013 | Spiritblogger’s Blog” daily. Your story-telling style is awesome, keep up the good work! And you can look my website about 國一數學.

  3. Dear Sirs,I log on to your article named “Spirit Message of the Moment – A Poem for Samhain 2013 | Spiritblogger’s Blog” like every week. Your writing style is witty, keep it up! And you can check my website about 太陽馬戲團.

  4. Hi,I checked your article named “Spirit Message of the Moment – A Poem for Samhain 2013 | Spiritblogger’s Blog” daily. Your writing style is awesome, keep doing what you`re doing! And you can see our website about 李宗瑞照片.

  5. When the winter has come and the giant of the forest is deserted by its leaves and extends its withered arms to the sky, a divine hand sheds upon it from heaven a mysterious seed, and a delicate green plant sprouts from the bark, and thus is born while all around is dying and decayed.


Leave a Reply

